St. Lawrence County Planning Office

Ag District Application   Landowners seeking to add property to an ag district must submit an inclusion form to the County Planning Office.  All requests for inclusion must be received or postmarked no later than March 30th of each year.

County Accepting Applications to  Add Property to Ag Districts 1 and 2   From March 1st to March 30th,  St. Lawrence County will accept applications to add property to Agricultural Districts 1 and 2.  Established in 1973, the County's Ag Districts contain more than 590,000 acres and are intended to protect farmland and farming activities.  At least 51% of this property consists of viable agricultural lands.  Agricultural District 1 primarily consists of agricultural lands in the western and southern portions of the county, and Agricultural District 2 spans across the county's northern and eastern regions.

The Benefits of Being in an Ag District   Farmers who include their property in an ag district receive protections from new non-farm land uses that are developed next to their land, and the NYS Agricultural Districts Law prevents local laws from unreasonably restricting farm operations that are located in the district.

Agricultural Disctricts 1 & 2  There are two Agricultural Districts located in St. Lawrence County.  District 1 includes the towns of DeKalb, DePeyster, Edwards, Fowler, Gouverneur, Hammond, Hermon, Macomb, Morristown, Oswegatchie, Pitcairn, Rossie and Russell.  District 2 includes Brasher, Canton, Hopkinton, Lawrence, Lisbon, Louisville, Madrid, Massena, Norfolk, Oswegatchie, Parishville, Pierrepont, Potsdam, Russell, Stockholm, and Waddington.  The towns of Oswegatchie and Russell are divided between both districts. 

Maps of showing land in an ag district are available at


More information about the benefits of being in an ag district can be found in the attached fact sheet, or by visiting the New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets website.

| |
The Official Web Site for St. Lawrence County Government
County Courthouse, 48 Court Street • Canton, New York 13617 - 1169
Contact Us