St. Lawrence County Planning Office

Environmental Management Council


Member / Officer Location
Jennifer Berbrich Rensselaer Falls
Joseph Brant, Secretary Potsdam
Ryan Burkum Potsdam
Glen Butler Potsdam

Bill Dashnaw

Larry Denesha DeKalb
Alex French Potsdam
Richard Marshall Massena
Donald O'Shea, Vice Chair Ogdensburg
Sue Rau Massena
Lance Rudiger Canton
Dana Smith Waddington
Tiernan Smith Ogdensburg
Andrew Soutar Massena
Pat Whalen Massena
Bob Zimmerman, Chair Canton


Minutes of Meetings 

February 16, 2016

March 16, 2016

April 20, 2016

May 18, 2016

July 20, 2016  August 17, 2016 September 21, 2016 October 19, 2016
November 16, 2016  January 18, 2017 February 15, 2017   April 19, 2017
May 17, 2017 June 21, 2017  July 19, 2017  September 20, 2017
October 18, 2017 November 15, 2017 January 17, 2018 February 21, 2018
 March 21, 2018  April 18, 2018 May 16, 2018 June 20, 2018


Pursuant to Article 47 of New York State Environmental Conservation Law and St. Lawrence County Resolution 56-71, this Council was established.  Amendments were made by St. Lawrence County to Resolutions 86-71, 3-19-88, and 133-96 and it was agreed that the bylaws amended superceded any and all previous bylaws adopted by the Council.


Membership shall include not more than sixteen (16) members, of which eight (8) would have demonstrated knowledge or expertise in the field, such as representation of environmental education, environmental sciences, environmental technology, environmental action and agriculture, including forestry.  One (1) ex-officio member selected by the Board of Legislators from among its members.  Seven (7) members who are to include; one (1) representative from each city, village, town conservation advisory commission created pursuant to Article 12-F, Section 239-x of New York State General Municipal Law and the remainder being persons with demonstrated interest in environmental matters affecting St. Lawrence County.

Term: Two years.

Report on "Visioning Process:  How The St. Lawrence County Environmental Management Council Can Move Toward Its Future"


| |
The Official Web Site for St. Lawrence County Government
County Courthouse, 48 Court Street • Canton, New York 13617 - 1169
Contact Us