St. Lawrence County Clerk
48 Court Street
Canton, New York 13617

Ph: 315-379-2237
Fx: 315-379-2302

Melissa Friedel, Deputy

Office Hours: 9:00 - 5:00

DMV Hours -
Canton: 8-5
Massena: 8:30-4:30
Gouverneur: 8-4
Ogdensburg: 8:30-4:30

NYS Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee’s Website

We now accept credit cards at the County Clerk's Office

credit card logos

County Clerk

Oaths of Office

Section 10 of NYS Public Law requires "Every officer shall take and file the oath of office required by law...". It further states "... every officer of a municipal corporation, including a school district, with the clerk thereof; and every other officer, including trustees and officers of a public library and the officers of boards of cooperative educational services, in the office of the clerk of the county in which he shall reside, if no place be otherwise provided by law for the filing thereof."

Section 30 (1) (a) states "His refusal or neglect to file his official oath or undertaking, if one is required, before and within thirty days after the commencement of the term of office for which he is chosen, if elective office, or if an appointed office, within thirty days after notice of his appointment, or within 30 days after commencement of such term;..."

The following officers must file with the County clerk in St. Lawrence County

     Town Justice

     Town Clerk/Deputy Town Clerk

     Trustees of Public Library

     Notaries Public

     Commissioner of Deeds

     Registrar of Vital Statistics/Assistant Registrar

     County Legislators

     Members of All County Boards

     County Officers

     County Judges

     Any Other Office Designated by Law


     Please call 315-379-2237 for more information.

| |
The Official Web Site for St. Lawrence County Government
County Courthouse, 48 Court Street • Canton, New York 13617 - 1169
Contact Us