Skip to main content

A County-wide Burn Ban Has Been Extended to July 12 at 6:00 p.m. See Burn Ban Details.

Dept of Motor Vehicles office

Department of Motor Vehicles

Keep your hard earned dollars in St. Lawrence County!  

Help us help you! Please bring in or mail your DMV Renewals to one of our four St. Lawrence County Motor Vehicle offices. When the local office processes your registration or driver's license renewal, the County keeps 12.7% of the fee. This goes directly to the County's general fund which helps to reduce your County Tax Levy. 

Presently, customers receive their vehicle registrations renewals with a bar-coded return envelope that if mailed goes back to the Utica Office.  Please do not use this envelope.  We can process your renewal and return it to you much faster.  Help prevent St. Lawrence County from losing revenue.  If you prefer to mail your renewal, please place your renewal in a separate envelope addressed to DMV, 48 Court Street, Canton NY 13617.

Thank you for your help and we sincerely appreciate your business!

Services and Information:

  • Driver Licenses, Including Commercial
  • Enhanced Driver Licenses
  • Commercial Driver Licenses
  • Learner Permits
  • Non-Driver Identification Cards
  • Vehicle Registrations
  • Plate Surrenders / Transfers

Contact Us:

Susan A. Thompson
Motor Vehicle Supervisor

DMV Office Hours

DMV Locations


Canton 8:00-5:00

80 State Highway 310


Gouverneur 8:00-4:00

1227 US Highway 11


Massena 8:30-4:30

21 Harrowgate Commons


Ogdensburg 8:30-4:30

206 Ford Street, Room 100 


 Back to Top

*No EDLs or Permits ½ hour before closing. No CDLs 1 hour before closing.

To make your trip to our office as convenient as possible please note that all transactions require the driver license of the individual for whom the work is being processed. You may also choose to save the trip and just mail your renewal to one of our 4 convenient DMV locations.

Types of Available ID's

5-Hour Pre-Licensing Course - Massena Public Library call 1-888-360-7693

  • Course Cost: $50.00.
  • You must bring your valid NYS learner's permit and a copy to class.
  • You must pre-register and pre-pay for this course.
  • You must bring your manual, pen and paper. 

Congratulations New Driver! You have passed your written test and now you may be wondering what the next step is. Please view our New Driver Information sheet. 

Forms of Payment:

  • Cash
  • Check made payable to “St. Lawrence County Clerk”
  • Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express

Online Resources:

NYS Department of Motor Vehicles
Information on the Enhanced Drivers License
Phone Numbers
Snowmobile Club Certificate
US DOT Numbers

Click here to go to the NYS Governor's Traffic Safety Committee's website.

Donate for life logoEnroll as an organ & tissue donor:


Back to Top