Community Services
Human Services Building
80 State Highway 310, Suite 1
Canton, NY 13617-1493

Ph: 315-386-2048
Fx: 315-386-2435


Community Services

Community Service Board Subcommittees

Mandated by Section 41.13 of the New York State Mental Hygiene Law, this Policy Board was created to plan services for the mentally ill, mental retardation and developmentally disabled and those suffering from alcoholism and substance abuse.

The Community Services Board Membership is made up of fifteen members appointed by the County Legislature. The board members are professionals in the field or have interest in services for the mentally ill and disabled. Membership shall include; whenever practical, a licensed physician, a licensed psychologist, but at least two (2) members shall be licensed physicians, and a demonstrated interest in the field of services for the mentally disabled.

There are three (3) subcommittees, which report to the Community Services Board. The Mental Health Subcommittee shall have no more than eleven (11) members; the Mental Retardation/Developmentally Disabled and the Alcohol/Substance Abuse Subcommittees shall have no more than nine (9) members. Of the eleven (11) on the Mental Health Subcommittee, two (2) shall be recipients of mental health services and two (2) shall be family members of recipients. Three (3) members of each subcommittee shall be members of the Community Services Board.

Term: Four years, two (2) consecutive term limit.

| |
The Official Web Site for St. Lawrence County Government
County Courthouse, 48 Court Street • Canton, New York 13617 - 1169
Contact Us